Indian Railways History: 2015 - Present Day

On this page

Information for several years in this page is incomplete. Please check back soon for updates.

Chronology of Railways: 2015 - Present Day


Jan. 10: Post conversion to BG, Palani - Pollachi section is inaugurated.

[Disaster] Feb. 13: 12 people killed and nearly 150 injured as nine coaches of 12677 Bangalore - Ernakulam Intercity Exp derails between Heelalige and Anekal Road around 07:35hrs.

Apr. 1: Sikta - Narkatiaganj MG section closes for gauge conversion.

May 2: Diesel Loco Shed Waltair (Visakhapatnam) celebrates its Golden Jubilee Anniversary.

Jun. 8: Central Railways completes the conversion of OHE traction from 1.5kV DC to 25kV AC between Mumbai CST and Thane.

Jul. 14: India's first railway line built under PPP model inaugurated in Gujarat. A BG line between Gandhidham and Tuna-Tekra Port for the Kandla Port Trust (KPT) in coordination with Western Railway.

[Disaster] Aug. 5: Two passenger trains - Kamayani Express and Janata Express, derail between Kurawan and Bhringi stations in Madhya Pradesh. At least 31 people were killed and 100 people are injured in the accident said to have been caused by flash floods.

[Disaster] Sep. 12: A chartered tourist train on the NG Kalka - Simla Railay derails on the Kalka - Parwanoo section, killing 2 passengers and injuring 13 others.

Oct. 1: The NG network in the Satpura Valley is closed for gauge conversion. All lines except Nagpur - Itwari - Nagbhir taken up for conversion to BG.

Nov. 10: Indian Railways awards contracts to GE and Alstom to procure 1,000 diesel and 800 electric Locomotives respectively. These locomotives are primarily intended for use on the Dedicated Freight corridors.

Nov. 21: Lumding - Silchar section in NFR is inaugurated after gauge conversion. Nearly 50% of the 210km section is built on a new alignment.


Jan. 1: Pilibhit - Bhojipura MG line closes for gauge conversion.

Jan. 6: The famous Parsik tunnel on the Thane - Kalyan section of Central Railway completes 100 years in service.

Feb. 3: JP Setu, a rail-cum-road bridge is inaugurated between Digha and Sonepur in Bihar. The 4.5km bridge is the second longest rail-cum-road bridge in India, after the Bogibeel Bridge in Assam.

Mar. 12: Shri Krishna Setu, another rail-cum-road bridge across the Ganga, inaugurated near Munger in Bihar. This bridge connects Munger with Sabdalpur Jn. on the north bank of the river.

Apr. 1: Doubling between Tiruchchirappalli and Manaparai is completed.

Apr. 5: Gatimaan Express, India's fastest train with a top speed of 160 km/h starts running between H. Nizamuddin and Agra.

May 27: Bhairabi in Mizoram, and Jiribam in Manipur connected to the Indian Railways network with the inauguration of broad gauge trains to Silchar.

May 30: Indian Railways conducts trials with Renfe/Talgo coaches at speeds up to 180 kmph.

Jul. 20: 'Deen Dayalu' coaches, i.e, unreserved coaches with facilities like potable drinking water, mobile charging points and bio-toilets introduced on the LHB platform.

Jul. 30 : Foundation stone for Imphal Railway station and an 11.5km tunnel on the proposed 111km rail section between Jiribam - Tupul - Imphal laid.

Jul. 31: Agartala reconnected with the rest of network after inauguration of the BG section to Lumding.

[Disaster] Nov. 20: 14 coaches of the 19321 Indore-Patna Express derail at Pukhrayan near Kanpur, killing 151 people.

Dec. 16: Humsafar Express - a new class of train introduced, featuring 3AC only accommodation. The inaugural service runs between Anand Vihar Terminus and Gorakhpur.


Information will be added soon.


Information will be added soon.


Information will be added soon.


Information will be added soon.


Information will be added soon.

The chronology begins in Part 1 (1832 - 1869). Followed by Part 2 (1870 - 1899), Part 3 (1900 - 1946), Part 4 (1947 - 1969), Part 5 (1970 to 1994), Part 6 1995 to 2004 and Part 7 2005 to 2014.