Many people have contributed to the building of this site. A deep debt of thanks is owed to the following:

  • R Anand for maintaining the domain and providing the web hosting for this site.
  • Bharath Moro, Jay Balakrishna, Satish Pai, and Jason Antony for web site organization and maintenance, databases, forum set-up, and applications.
  • Satish Pai for compiling and writing much of the initial FAQ and ongoing editing and compilation of material.
  • R. Gowrisankar, Shashanka Nanda, Apurva Bahadur, Ashish Kuvelkar, Binai Sankar, Sachin Buddhisagar, Vivek 'Old Man', Bharath Moro, and Harsh Vardhan for curating the picture gallery.
  • Bharath Moro and Samit Roychoudhury for graphic design.
  • Harsh Vardhan for writing and compiling steam information and curating the permanent collections of historical and heritage images.
  • S Shankar for the Showcase exhibition of railway pictures.


Most material in the documents section and picture gallery is from individual contributors who are acknowledged on the appropriate web pages.

A lot of the material in the Indian Railways FAQ and on other pages has been obtained from messages posted to the IRFCA mailing list, and from personal communications from members of IRFCA. The list below is an incomplete list of persons who have in this way contributed to this web site. Without doubt, there are several omissions in this list. All IRFCA members are thanked for participating in discussions and for providing information that is otherwise hard to obtain. Much other information has been looked up in various books (listed in the section on books), websites (listed in the section on web resources), the Indian Railways magazine and other official IR sources, timetables, news articles, etc.

Many thanks to the following persons who provided a lot of useful information for this site through their posts to the mailing list and private communications. (Listed alphabetically.)

  • Arnab Acharya
  • Rajendra Aklekar
  • I S Anand
  • Krishnan Anand
  • Rangachari Anand
  • Jason Antony
  • Pushkar Apte
  • Ajai Banerji
  • Apurva Bahadur
  • Jay Balakrishna
  • Mohan Bhuyan
  • B M S Bisht
  • Joy Brahma
  • Mark Bristow
  • Steven Brown
  • Milan Chatterjee
  • David Churchill
  • Sundar Coimbatore
  • Jagadheep D.
  • Simon Darvill
  • Protip Dasgupta
  • Paul Davies
  • Rob Dickinson
  • Don Dickens
  • Zubin Dotivala
  • Anirudh DSP
  • Madhur Dubey
  • Joydeep Dutta
  • Royston Ellis
  • Heinrich Hubbert
  • Ganesh Iyer
  • Jimmy Jose
  • Siddhartha Joshi
  • Khalid Kagzi
  • Vasudev Kamath
  • Dara Karanjia
  • Karthik M V
  • Stuart Kean
  • Sachin Keshavan
  • Muhammed Khan
  • Kapil Khanna
  • S Krishnamorthy
  • Michael Krumholz
  • S Kumar
  • Ashwin Kurup
  • John Lacey
  • Sudhir Lakhe
  • Ian MacFarlane
  • Vivek Manvi
  • Rakesh Mishra
  • Sujeet Mishra
  • Sandeep Mohan
  • Jagan Mohan
  • Bharath Moro
  • Jishnu Mukerji
  • Rabibrata Mukherjee
  • Viraf Mulla
  • Shashanka Nanda
  • Shanku Niyogi
  • Anne Ogborn
  • Uttam Padukone
  • Ratnendra Pandey
  • Kartik Pashupati
  • Krishnan Parasuraman
  • Alok Patel
  • Sheldon Perry
  • Eljas Polho
  • Vivek Prakash
  • V Srinivas Prasad
  • Avimanyu Pyne
  • G Raghuram
  • Julian Rainbow
  • Samit Roychoudhury
  • Larry Russell
  • Aravind S
  • Jayant S
  • Arun Saksena
  • Samar
  • Dheeraj Sanghi
  • Vaibhav Sarin
  • S Shankar
  • Sridhar Shankar
  • Sandeep Sharma
  • Rajeev Shrivastava
  • Shreenath Singru
  • R Sivaramakrishnan
  • S Skandan
  • Roderick Smith
  • S Srinivas
  • Gopal Srinivasan
  • K K Subramanian
  • Ravi Sundararajan
  • Lakshman T
  • Prakash Tendulkar
  • Sukrut Thipse
  • Sagar Tipnis
  • Glyn Thomas
  • Harsh Vardhan
  • Ashish Vashisht
  • Poochi Venkat
  • Mani Vijay
  • Bharat Vohra
  • Dr Ken Walker
  • L Webber
  • Craig Zeni

Thanks to S. Shankar, Apurva Bahadur, Harsh Vardhan, John Lacey, Mark Bristow, Shashanka Nanda, Lakshman T, Gautam Parthasarathy, Zubin Dotivala, Rabibrata, Alok Patel, Sujeet Mishra, Jay Balakrishna, and many others for photographs used on this site. Thanks to Bharath Moro and Poochi Venkat for graphics of locomotive liveries and other materials on the site.

Some photographs of locomotives were generously made available by Sujeet Mishra of CLW from IR's publicity materials. IR's 150-year celebration logo was generously made available by Mr Biswas, Works Manager, SE Railway. Some photographs have also been taken from publicity brochures of BEML, Indian Railways, etc. Selected extracts of materials from IR correspondence, manuals, etc., were generously made available by various IR staff and helped in the writing of some sections on this web site.

Special thanks to Samit Roychoudhury who has generously made available versions of his Indian Railways route maps for use on this site, and contributed graphic images for some sections. Special thanks also to Ashish Vashisht for making available his map of the Mumbai suburban rail routes and other maps.

Special thanks also to Moni RS, Ajai Banerji, Samar, Aravind S, Anirudh DSP, Dilip Narayan, Jimmy Jose, Mani Vijay, Harsh Vardhan, Edward Jeni, Sreeram Chathurvedula, Baskar and Balaji Sriraman for scanning and cataloging the historical timetable archives.

Special thanks also to Julian Rainbow, Simon Darvill, Mark Bristow, Geoff Coward, and Rabibrata for extensive locomotive data.

Special thanks also to Julian Rainbow and the British Overseas Railways Historical Trust for making available the material in Jal Daboo's book, Diesel and Electric Locomotives of Indian Railways.

Note on copyright material We have tried scrupulously to avoid material that might be under copyright where we do not have permission to reproduce it, except for small excerpts which we believe might fall within the definition of fair use. If you notice any copyright material appearing on this web site which should not be in it, please bring it to our attention, and we will correct the problem. (Send mail to Also see the legal information and disclaimers section.

Financial Support

Many people have contributed financially (and continue to do so) towards the maintenance of our web site – too numerous to note individually here. Their contributions are very gratefully acknowledged.